New House of Reps and Senate prepare for 2016 opening

Monday 29 August, 2016 | By: Default Admin | Tags: Senate, Pauline Hanson, crossbench, Turnbull Government

Who’s who in the zoo.

The 45th Parliament of Australia is about to open and there are a host of new faces in the House of Representatives and the Senate. Not to mention a few old ones too (Pauline Hanson is back).

The Chamber of Commerce and Industry Queensland (CCIQ) provides a guide for small business owners on the composition of the new Parliament and how it will play out.


Key points

•             A double dissolution election was held on 2 July 2016 whereby all seats in the House of Representatives and Senate were up for election. All seats in both Chambers were declared by the Australian Electoral Commission prior to the return of the writs on 8 August 2016 and the 45th Parliament of Australia will be opened on 30 August 2016.

•             Following various resignations, retirements and leadership changes this was the first election campaign for the leaders of the major parliamentary parties (Prime Minister Malcolm Turnbull, Deputy Prime Minister and The Nationals leader Barnaby Joyce, and Opposition Leader and Australian Labor Party (ALP) leader Bill Shorten as well as Australian Greens leader Richard Di Natale).

•             The incumbent Turnbull Coalition Government experienced a national swing against it of 3.13 per cent, and now has a total of 76 seats in the House of Representatives, down from 90 seats in the previous Parliament.

•             The ALP increased its number of seats in the House of Representatives from 55 to 69; two Independents (Cathy McGowan and Andrew Wilkie), one Katter’s Australian Party (KAP) member (Bob Katter), and one Australian Greens member (Adam Bandt) were re-elected; and a new minor party MP, Rebekha Sharkie (Nick Xenophon Team (NXT)) was elected to the House.

•             Party representation in the Senate has changed from the 44th Parliament: Coalition parties now have 30 Senators (down from 33) and the ALP 26 (up from 25).

•             The Senate crossbench now contains 20 Senators: nine Australian Greens (down from 10) and 11 minor party Senators (up from eight). This is the largest Senate crossbench since the expansion of the Senate in 1950.

•             Pauline Hanson’s One Nation party (PHON) returns to the Parliament (and enters the Senate for the first time), securing four Senate seats.

House of Representatives

The Federal Election on 2 July 2016 saw the retirement of 23 members of the House of Representatives.

This is fewer than at the 2013 election (25), which was the highest number of departures at any one election.

Only 16 sitting members were defeated. There will be 39 new members of the House of Representatives.

New members constitute approximately 26 per cent of the House of Representatives, compared with 28 per cent in 2013 (42 new members) and 21 per cent in 2010 (32 new members).

Included in the 39 new members of the House of Representatives are two former members: Steve Georganas (ALP, Hindmarsh, 2004–13, South Australia (SA)) and Mike Kelly (ALP, Eden-Monaro, 2007–13, New South Wales (NSW)).

During the recent redistributions of Western Australia (WA), NSW and the Australian Capital Territory (ACT), the electorate of Throsby (NSW) was renamed Whitlam. The electorate of Fraser (ACT) (not named after the late former Prime Minister Malcolm Fraser) was renamed Fenner, and the electorate of Burt (WA) was established.

The electorate of Hunter (NSW) was abolished, but the NSW electorate of Charlton was renamed Hunter as this is a federation electorate name.


As the election on 2 July was a double dissolution election, all 76 senators were up for re-election.

Four senators did not contest the election and 10 were defeated, thus 14 new senators (approximately 18 per cent of the Senate) were elected at the 2 July election from a variety of parties. The 14 new senators elected equals the 14 new senators elected at the 2013 and 2007 federal elections.

The Senate of the 45th Parliament also sees the return of two former senators, Louise Pratt (ALP, WA) and Don Farrell (ALP, SA) and one former Member of the House of Representatives, Pauline Hanson (PHON, Qld). Senator Hanson will return to Parliament some 18 years after departing the House of Representatives; she served as the PHON Member for Oxley (Qld) from 1996 to 1998.

Party representation

The 2016 election reshuffled the balance of power in the Senate and significantly reduced the Government’s majority in the House of Representatives.

The Coalition won the election, having retained 76 seats in the House of Representatives—a one seat majority.

The ALP emerged with 69 seats; two Independents (Ms McGowan and Mr Wilkie) and two minor party members (Mr Bandt (AG) and Mr Katter (KAP)) retained their seats; and a new minor party member, Rebekha Sharkie (NXT), won the seat of Mayo (SA). If the Speaker of the House of Representatives (to be elected on the first day of Parliament) is drawn from the Coalition ranks, the Government majority will fall to 75 seats.

Neither major party gained a majority in the Senate. The Coalition retained 30 seats (down from 33) and the ALP 26 seats (up from 25). The Australian Greens retained nine seats (down from 10) and the rest of the crossbench expanded to 11 senators, up from eight in the 44th Parliament.

Crossbench minor party representation in the Senate is as follows:

• Liberal Democratic Party—David Leyonhjelm (NSW)

• Family First—Bob Day (SA)

• Jacqui Lambie Network—Jacqui Lambie (Tas.)

• NXT—Nick Xenophon, Stirling Griff and Skye Kakoschke-Moore (SA)

• PHON—Pauline Hanson and Malcolm Roberts (Qld), Brian Burston (NSW), and Rodney Culleton (WA) and

• Derryn Hinch’s Justice Party (DHJP)—Derryn Hinch (Vic.)


Post your comment

You cannot post comments until you have logged in. Login Here.


No one has commented on this page yet.

RSS feed for comments on this page | RSS feed for all comments